Dorothy Collins – Picnic – Dorothy Collins Sings Steve Allen (1958)

Dorothy Collins - Picnic - Dorothy Collins Sings Steve Allen (1958)
Artist: Dorothy Collins
Album: Picnic – Dorothy Collins Sings Steve Allen
Label: Verve Reissues
Year Of Release: 1958
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Picnic
02. Banana Split
03. Spring In Maine
04. What Is A Woman
05. Impossible
06. Oh What A Nite For Love
07. South Rampart Street Parade
08. C’est Tres Joli
09. We’re Together
10. Stay Just A Little While
11. This Could Be The Start Of Something


While Steve Allen’s legacy rests largely on his pioneering efforts in late-night television, he was also a prolific composer who reportedly authored more than 7,000 songs, among them the pop standard “This Could Be the Start of Something Big.” This 1958 set from vocalist Dorothy Collins is a pleasant if occasionally pedestrian collection of Allen material, buoyed by the winsome arrangements of Jack Kane. Given Allen’s renowned wit, it’s no surprise that the lyrics of songs like “Banana Split” and “C’est Tres Joli” are suffused with humor, but Collins’ rich vocals lack the dexterity and playfulness the material seems to demand Kane’s feather-light arrangements help offset the disparity, but rarely does Picnic rise to the level one expects given the talent involved.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.