Ernestine Anderson – Ernestine Anderson (1958)

Ernestine Anderson - Ernestine Anderson (1958)
Artist: Ernestine Anderson
Album: Ernestine Anderson
Label: Verve Reissues
Year Of Release: 1958
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Runnin’ Wild
02. Stardust
03. Heat Wave
04. My Ship
05. Azure-Te
06. Welcome To The Club
07. There’s A Boat Dat’s Leavin’ Soon For New York (Album Version)
08. Social Call
09. There Will Never Be Another You
10. A Sleepin’ Bee
11. Interlude


This CD brings back singer Ernestine Anderson’s first full-length U.S. recording session. The program only clocks in at 31 1/2 minutes and some of the performances are remarkably brief (including a 59-second version of “There Will Never Be Another You”). Backed by an orchestra arranged by Pete Rugolo, Anderson (who was at the time influenced by Dinah Washington) is in good voice and swings without getting very far from the melodies. The highlights are “Stardust,” “Social Call,” “A Sleepin’ Bee” and particularly a touching “My Ship.” Although this brief program should have been combined with another Mercury release for this reissue, the music should please Ernestine Anderson’s fans.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.