Germana La Sorsa – Vapour (2021)

Germana La Sorsa - Vapour (2021)
Artist: Germana La Sorsa
Album: Vapour
Label: 33 Jazz Records
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. In the Beginning (1:44)
02. Vapour (4:26)
03. If I Fall in Love (7:26)
04. Inca Roads (4:50)
05. In Time and (S) Pace (5:55)
06. Tacho (6:30)
07. Following the Flow (2:04)


Recorded in November 2019 and out on 10th of December 2021 on 33 Jazz Records through worldwide digital distributors via the Orchard, ‘Vapour’ contains both original compositions and arrangements.

In its style and conception, the music is very eclectic, steeped in modern and contemporary sounds and avant-garde/free experimentation. La Sorsa’s compositions take inspiration from the work of contemporary greats like Esperanza Spalding and Gretchen Parlato while two of the seven tracks – ‘Inca Roads’ and ‘Tacho (Mixing Pot)’ – are arrangements of songs by Frank Zappa and Hermeto Pascoal, two artists that have been vital to forming her compositional approach.

La Sorsa called on the musicianship of highly regarded long-term collaborator jazz pianist Sam Leak on Hammond organ as well as the heavy weight stalwarts of the London jazz scene Nick Costley-White on guitar and Jay Davis on drums. Between them they have created a modern, open and sophisticated atmosphere, tuned in to the current wave of contemporary UK jazz. The album is both intense and laid-back, groove heavy and rich in electrifying moments – full to the brim with captivating melodies.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.