Gogi Grant – The Wayward Wind: The Essential Collection 1955-61 (2021)

Gogi Grant - The Wayward Wind: The Essential Collection 1955-61 (2021)
Artist: Gogi Grant
Album: The Wayward Wind: The Essential Collection 1955-61
Label: Acrobat Records
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

CD 1:
01. Everyone Knows I Love You
02. Ricochet
03. Secret Love
04. Suddenly There’s A Valley
05. Love Is
06. Who Are We
07. We Believe In Love
08. The Wayward Wind
09. No More Than Forever
10. You’re In Love
11. When The Tide Is High
12. The Golden Ladder
13. All Of Me
14. I Gave You My Heart
15. I Don’t Want To Walk Without You
16. Johnny’s Dream
17. What A Beautiful Combination
18. Chinese Nightingale
19. Bonjour Tristesse
20. My Secret Prayer
21. How Do We Know We’re In Love
22. Strange Are The Ways Of Love
23. Marjolaina
24. Two Dreams
25. (Kiss Me) Honey Honey (Kiss Me)
26. The Ride Back From Boot Hill
27. A Restless Pair

CD 2:
01. If And When
02. Goin’ Home
03. All God’s Children Got Shoes
04. I Never Meant To Fall In Love
05. Stay Here With Me
06. In A Sentimental Mood
07. That One Kiss
08. I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
09. The One I Love (Belongs To Somebody Else)
10. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
11. Body And Soul
12. The Parisians
13. Welcome To My Heart
14. The More I See You
15. If I Should Lose You
16. Can’t Help Lovin Dat Man
17. They Say It’s Wonderful
18. Bewitched
19. Mad About The Boy
20. Always True To You In My Fashion
21. By Myself
22. Bibbidi-Bobbidi-Boo
23. You’re Getting To Be A Habit With Me
24. If You Want To Get To Heaven – Shout!
25. Ninety-Nine And A Half
26. Wayfaring Stranger


The daughter of Russian immigrant parents in Philadelphia, she moved with her family to Loa Angeles and came to the fore through TV talent shows, leading to a contract with RCA-Victor – RCA’s Dave Kapp gave her the name “Gogi”, which was the name of his favourite restaurant. She moved to the Era label, for whom she had her debut No. 9 hit “Suddenly There’s A Valley” and her landmark US No. 1 and UK Top 10 with “The Wayward Wind” before moving back to RCA in 1957. This great-value 53-track 2-CD set comprises most of her A & B sides on the RCA-Victor, Era & Liberty labels from these years, including the six chart hits she had during this era. She also became a popular album artist, especially with selections of movie music, and along with the singles, the collection features selected titles from her albums “Suddenly There’s Gogi Grant” on Era, “The Helen Morgan Story”, “Gigi”, “Welcome To My Heart”, “Showboat”, “Torch Time”, “Kiss Me Kate” and “Granted….It’s Gogi” on RCA and “If You Want To Get To Heaven…Shout!” on Liberty. Although her success came after rock ‘n’ roll had made its impact on the pop market, her style was perhaps more of an earlier time, and in offering a selective overview of her output during what was the main period of her career, this collection provides a showcase for a talent who was very much of her era and has probably not had the attention she merits.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.