Hermann Hestbek Ensemble – Mørketid (2021)

Hermann Hestbek Ensemble - Mørketid (2021)
Artist: Hermann Hestbek Ensemble
Album: Mørketid
Label: AMP Music & Records
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01 – Sommersolverv (9:29)
02 – Det vi ikke snakker om / Mørket (7:06)
03 – Den blå timen (4:40)
04 – To the Northpole (8:03)
05 – Skábma (5:00)
06 – Mångata (8:15)
07 – Vintersolverv (9:08)


Siv Aurlund – vocals,
Børge Brustad – violin,
Tuva Viktoria Lundberg Olsson – trumpet,
Guro Kvåle – trombone,
Amund Stenøien – vibraphone,
Hermann Arntzen Hestbek – tuba & flugabone,
Elias Alexander Green Baadsvik – drums & percussion

Mørketid is the debut album by Hermann Hestbek Ensemble. It includes jazz musicians from NTNU, Griegakademiet and Fridhems Folkhögskola. Mørketid has been part of Hermann’s scholarship project at Sund Folkehøgskole.

With Mørketid, Hermann Arntzen Hestbek seeks to explore being exposed to the darkest time of the year; a time characterized by poor sleep, winter depression and cold temperatures. How does it affect us? What happens with our mind when Tellus turns away from the sun? And what about those who defy all of the above and travel on expeditions to the North Pole? These questions have been the inspiration for Hestbek while writing music and sewing it together with samples and lyrics. All of the music is composed by Hestbek, but is arranged together with the ensemble with a purpose to give space to each individual musician and his/her musical distinctiveness.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.