Jimmy Smith – Jimmy Smith’s Finest Hour (2000)

Jimmy Smith - Jimmy Smith's Finest Hour (2000)
Artist: Jimmy Smith
Album: Jimmy Smith’s Finest Hour
Label: Verve
Year Of Release: 2000
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)

01. Walk On The Wild Side (5:58)
02. Ol’ Man River (3:59)
03. Organ Grinder’s Swing (2:16)
04. Got My Mojo Workin’ (8:03)
05. Hobo Flats (4:46)
06. Blues For Del (6:19)
07. The Cat (3:27)
08. Blues In The Night (4:49)
09. The Sermon (7:44)
10. James And Wes (8:14)
11. Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag (7:37)


Jimmy Smith – hammond B3 organ
Oliver Nelson, Lalo Schifrin – conductor
Jerry Dodgion, Phil Woods – alto saxophone, woodwinds
Al Cohn, Zoot Sims – tenor saxophone
Jerome Richardson – baritone saxophone
Ernie Royal, Doc Severinsen, Clark Terry, Thad Jones, Roy Hargrove, Nicholas Payton – trumpet
Ray Alonge – French horn
Jimmy Cleveland, Urbie Green – trombone
Don Butterfield – tuba
Kenny Burrell, Wes Montgomery, Mark Whitfield – guitar
George Duvivier, Milt Hinton, Christian McBride – bass
Ed Shaughnessy – drums, percussion
Grady Tate, Bill English, Mel Lewis, Bernard Purdie – drums
Ray Barretto – congas

Jimmy Smith’s Finest Hour gathers 11 tracks from the organist’s Verve releases, ten from the period 1962-1966, and one 1995 collaboration with young lion trumpeters Roy Hargrove and Nicholas Payton. Smith thrives in diverse settings, ranging from Oliver Nelson-led big bands to small groups featuring guitarists Kenny Burrell and Wes Montgomery. Although this compilation is a good choice for listeners new to Smith’s funky blues/jazz/gospel approach, the absence of any cuts from his fine Blue Note albums of the late ’50s and early ’60s keeps it from being truly representative of his finest work.
Joshua L. Rosenberg

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.