Omara Portuondo – Gracias (2008)

Omara Portuondo - Gracias (2008)
Artist: Omara Portuondo
Album: Gracias
Label: World Village
Year Of Release: 2008
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)

01. Yo Vi
02. Adios felicidad
03. O que sera (A Flor da terra)- featuring Chico buarque
04. Vuela pena
05. Cuento para un nino
06. Amame como soy – featuring pablo milanes
07. Tu mi desengano
08. Cachita
09. Rabo de nube
10. Gracias – featuring jorge Drexler
11. Nuestro gran amor – featuring Cachaito lopez & chuco valdes
12. Lo que me queda por vivir
13. Drume negrita – featuring Richard Bona


Omara Portuondo, the Cuban diva and star of the Buena Vista Social Club among others, celebrates her 60-year musical career with a brand new album. With Gracias, Portuondo’s aim is to revisit the songs that she has found most moving and to work with the songwriters she most admires, such as Silvio Rodriguez, Pablo Milanes and Jorge Drexler, the latter being the composer of the album’s title-song, specially dedicated to Portuondo. These are not, however, the only star guests on this recording. If the list were not already impressive enough, other great names include Chucho Valdes (who performs a song composed by Portuondo’s son), the brilliant African musician Richard Bona and the Brazilian maestro Chico Buarque. And what better way to celebrate such an auspicious occasion than to recruit a first-class quintet? The group consists of three musicians that Portuondo has worked with in the past – pianist Roberto Fonseca, guitarist and musical director Swami Jr. and percussionist Andres Coayo – along with the Israeli double bassist Avishai Cohen and Hindu percussionist Trilok Gurtu.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.